Yarning Along with Charlotte

This weeks project has been adding to my Charlotte afghan.

At this point, I am choosing stitches as each row begins.

I am loving how it is growing.

489C6AC9-1DB2-4E2E-A93B-1AAA8E009961

My daughter, Miss ME, loves it too and keeps asking if she can have it when I am done.

This week, I am almost done with my book club book Before We Were Yours.

I am listening to this book via Audible and the women who are narrating it are wonderful to listen to.

Two families, generations apart, are forever changed by a heartbreaking injustice in this poignant novel, inspired by a true story, for readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale.

Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family’s Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge—until strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children’s Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents—but they quickly realize that the truth is much darker. At the mercy of the facility’s cruel director, Rill fights to keep her sisters and brother together—in a world of danger and uncertainty.

Aiken, South Carolina, present day. Born into wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all: a successful career as a federal prosecutor, a handsome fiancé, and a lavish wedding on the horizon. But when Avery returns home to help her father weather a health crisis, a chance encounter leaves her with uncomfortable questions—and compels her to take a journey through her family’s long-hidden history, on a path that will ultimately lead either to devastation . . . or redemption.

Based on one of America’s most notorious real-life scandals—in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country—Wingate’s riveting, wrenching, and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us how, even though the paths we take can lead to many places, the heart never forgets where we belong.

~GoodReads

If you are looking for a good audio book, I recommend this one!

From Overdrive, I am reading The Women in the Castle.

Amid the ashes of Nazi Germany’s defeat, Marianne von Lingenfels returns to the once grand castle of her husband’s ancestors, an imposing stone fortress now fallen into ruin following years of war. The widow of a resistor murdered in the failed July, 20, 1944, plot to assassinate Adolf Hitler, Marianne plans to uphold the promise she made to her husband’s brave conspirators: to find and protect their wives, her fellow resistance widows.

First, Marianne rescues six-year-old Martin, the son of her dearest childhood friend, from a Nazi reeducation home. Together, they make their way across the smoldering wreckage of their homeland to Berlin, where Martin’s mother, the beautiful and naïve Benita, has fallen into the hands of occupying Red Army soldiers. Then she locates Ania, another resistor’s wife, and her two boys, now refugees languishing in one of the many camps that house the millions displaced by the war.

As Marianne assembles this makeshift family from the ruins of her husband’s resistance movement, she is certain their shared pain and circumstances will hold them together. But she quickly discovers that the black-and-white, highly principled world of her privileged past has become infinitely more complicated, filled with secrets and dark passions that threaten to tear them apart. Eventually, all three women must come to terms with the choices that have defined their lives before, during, and after the war—each with their own unique share of challenges.

Written with the devastating emotional power of The Nightingale, Sarah’s Key, and The Light Between Oceans, Jessica Shattuck’s evocative and utterly enthralling novel offers a fresh perspective on one of the most tumultuous periods in history. Combining piercing social insight and vivid historical atmosphere, The Women in the Castle is a dramatic yet nuanced portrait of war and its repercussions that explores what it means to survive, love, and, ultimately, to forgive in the wake of unimaginable hardship.

~GoodReads

I am about 40% in and I like it a lot.

Although I thought the last Aurora Teagarden mystery was pretty bad (was there even a real mystery in the book?), I was surprised by the end.

So, I also have the next one waiting on my bedside table to read.

What are you reading and working on?

Here is Charlotte’s growth:

imageimageIMG_5349IMG_5728IMG_5730489C6AC9-1DB2-4E2E-A93B-1AAA8E009961

 

Joining: The Little Room of Rachell

The Stitchin’ Mommy

The Quilting Room with Mel

 

 

Advertisements

11 thoughts on “Yarning Along with Charlotte

  1. Stefanie says:

    This crochet is patriotic! It makes me think of county fairs with women in dresses and parasols. I saw The Women in the Castle at my library; I almost picked it up but wasn’t in the mood to read something that heavy. I like the sound of the first book also. I have that on my TBR I think. I’m getting through my first stack of library books. I finished the fantasy one as you have probably read about in Monday’s post and I’m getting through my book club pick for November – The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks, good nonfiction about how her tumor cells affected the science industry. I also am reading At Home in Mitford about a quaint, English village; it’s an easy read. I’m itching to get to my latest check outs. I also have the Fat Witch Brownies cookbook; I want to try a recipe from there. My husband drooled over the blondies, a type of brownie we haven’t had before.

    Like

    • MrsMcD918 says:

      The First book was really good! I liked the Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks (we read that for book club), it was fascinating! I have read a lot of the Mitford books (if I’m thinking of the right ones.. the ones with Father Tim?). I’m going to have to check out that cook book!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Rain Frances says:

    Your Charlotte is just gorgeous! The colours really make it pop. I don’t know what’s with me these days (maybe the 8 pets??? lol) but I have no attention span for books! I hope to fix that when winter keeps me indoors for 6 months lol! 🙂

    Like

    • MrsMcD918 says:

      LOL! I lost my concentration a few years back, after my brother passed, so I’m trying to get back on track reading. Set my Good Reads goal at 35 books this year and will surpass it.

      Like

  3. Jennifer says:

    I love this blanket, it looks beautiful! Thank you for joining in with my link party. I enjoyed reading about the books you’re reading at the moment. I keep having Before We Were Yours come up in my suggested reading on Amazon, based on other books I’ve browsed recently. I will have to see if our library has a copy. Hope you’re doing well, take care.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s