Book Date

Joining Book Date with this weeks reads.

I finished listening to The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper and loved it!

If you are looking for a good audio book, try Arthur.

The narrator is wonderful and it is a sweet story of a man discovering his wife’s past.

My current listen is The Book of Speculation by Erika Swyler.

Simon Watson, a young librarian, lives alone in a house that is slowly crumbling toward the Long Island Sound. His parents are long dead. His mother, a circus mermaid who made her living by holding her breath, drowned in the very water his house overlooks. His younger sister, Enola, ran off six years ago and now reads tarot cards for a traveling carnival.

One June day, an old book arrives on Simon’s doorstep, sent by an antiquarian bookseller who purchased it on speculation. Fragile and water damaged, the book is a log from the owner of a traveling carnival in the 1700s, who reports strange and magical things, including the drowning death of a circus mermaid. Since then, generations of “mermaids” in Simon’s family have drowned–always on July 24, which is only weeks away.

As his friend Alice looks on with alarm, Simon becomes increasingly worried about his sister. Could there be a curse on Simon’s family? What does it have to do with the book, and can he get to the heart of the mystery in time to save Enola?

In the tradition of Sara Gruen’s Water for Elephants, Erin Morgenstern’s The Night Circus, and Elizabeth Kostova’s The Historian, The Book of Speculation is Erika Swyler’s moving debut novel about the power of books, family, and magic.

~Good Reads

I like the narrator so much (Ari Fliakos) that I recently purchased another book he narrates.

I can hear why he is in Audible’s Narrator Hall of Fame.

I finished Alan Alda’s book and enjoyed that as well.

My current read is A Piece of the World by Christina Baker Kline.

“Later he told me that he’d been afraid to show me the painting. He thought I wouldn’t like the way he portrayed me: dragging myself across the field, fingers clutching dirt, my legs twisted behind. The arid moonscape of wheatgrass and timothy. That dilapidated house in the distance, looming up like a secret that won’t stay hidden.”

To Christina Olson, the entire world was her family’s remote farm in the small coastal town of Cushing, Maine. Born in the home her family had lived in for generations, and increasingly incapacitated by illness, Christina seemed destined for a small life. Instead, for more than twenty years, she was host and inspiration for the artist Andrew Wyeth, and became the subject of one of the best known American paintings of the twentieth century.

As she did in her beloved smash bestseller Orphan Train, Christina Baker Kline interweaves fact and fiction in a powerful novel that illuminates a little-known part of America’s history. Bringing into focus the flesh-and-blood woman behind the portrait, she vividly imagines the life of a woman with a complicated relationship to her family and her past, and a special bond with one of our greatest modern artists.

Told in evocative and lucid prose, A Piece of the World is a story about the burdens and blessings of family history, and how artist and muse can come together to forge a new and timeless legacy.

~Good Reads

I am about 120 pages in, and my oh my, I LOVE this book.

When I open it, I am totally engrossed and long for uninterrupted time to read this book.

B13787A2-A9E1-4204-A91E-391A8D9BD16D

I was on call last night and was able to read between my patients arriving.

Then I read as we waited for the bus….I can’t wait till the kids are in bed and I can dive back in.

Have a good week!!

Advertisements

7 thoughts on “Book Date

  1. Kathryn says:

    I must check up on that book by Alan Alda. I clicked over when I saw the cover of your book on the link, the book looked inviting, great to hear you are loving it. I have it on my radar but now you have amped that up quite a bit!

    Like

    • MrsMcD918 says:

      I loved A Piece of the World. I do preface it with noting that I found it rather heartbreaking. As a mom of kids with disabilities, I always think what would their life have been like in a different time. I felt for Christina.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s