Book Date

IMG_5314

This week, I finished two books.

First up, Where Hope Begins by Catherine West.

I really enjoyed this book.

I typically don’t chose or seek out books that involve God or religious themes.

However, in this book it fit the book.

Not heavy handed or too much.

There were difficult themes in this book (illness, suicide, adultery), but it wasn’t a “heavy” book or a depressing book.

I recommend this book.

(read via Net Galley)

Next, I finished Rich Bragg’s My Southern Journey; True Stories from the Heart of the South.

From celebrated New York Times bestselling author and winner of the Pulitzer Prize, Rick Bragg, comes a poignant and wryly funny collection of essays on life in the south.

Keenly observed and written with his insightful and deadpan sense of humor, he explores enduring Southern truths about home, place, spirit, table, and the regions’ varied geographies, including his native Alabama, Cajun country, and the Gulf Coast. Everything is explored, from regional obsessions from college football and fishing, to mayonnaise and spoonbread, to the simple beauty of a fish on the hook.

Collected from over a decade of his writing, with many never-before-published essays written specifically for this edition, My Southern Journey is an entertaining and engaging read, especially for Southerners (or feel Southern at heart) and anyone who appreciates great writing.

~GoodReads

I also enjoyed this book quite a bit!

Since this is composed of essays, this was an easy book to pick up and put down while reading others.

My current read is The Lido by Libby Page.

A tender, joyous debut novel about a cub reporter and her eighty-six-year-old subject—and the unlikely and life-changing friendship that develops between them.

Kate is a twenty-six-year-old riddled with anxiety and panic attacks who works for a local paper in Brixton, London, covering forgettably small stories. When she’s assigned to write about the closing of the local lido (an outdoor pool and recreation center), she meets Rosemary, an eighty-six-year-old widow who has swum at the lido daily since it opened its doors when she was a child. It was here Rosemary fell in love with her husband, George; here that she’s found communion during her marriage and since George’s death. The lido has been a cornerstone in nearly every part of Rosemary’s life.

But when a local developer attempts to buy the lido for a posh new apartment complex, Rosemary’s fond memories and sense of community are under threat.

As Kate dives deeper into the lido’s history—with the help of a charming photographer—she pieces together a portrait of the pool, and a portrait of a singular woman, Rosemary. What begins as a simple local interest story for Kate soon blossoms into a beautiful friendship that provides sustenance to both women as they galvanize the community to fight the lido’s closure. Meanwhile, Rosemary slowly, finally, begins to open up to Kate, transforming them both in ways they never knew possible.

In the tradition of Fredrik Backman, The Lido is a charming, feel-good novel that captures the heart and spirit of a community across generations—an irresistible tale of love, loss, aging, and friendship.

~Good Reads

This book I got via Net Galley (which I’m enjoying using!).

I am only a few pages into the book but am looking forward to reading it tonight after the kids are in bed.

Have a good week!

Joining Book Date and The Caffeinated Reader

#NetGalley

#TNZFICTION

Advertisements

5 thoughts on “Book Date

  1. bookishmichelle says:

    I don’t usually read books with religious themes but I will accept them if they aren’t too heavy. Glad to hear Where Hope Begins is one of them.

    The Lido sounds like a good read. Hope you’ll enjoy it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s